ACS-A is proud to share the news that our Chairman Professor Murray L. Scott has been awarded the prestigious biennial Lawrence Hargrave Award of the Royal Aeronautical Society Australian Division. The award is for an Australian who has made a significant contribution to Australian aviation. The award was presented by the Australian Division Past President Air Vice Marshal Noel Schmidt, AM CSC FRAeS, at the 18th Australian International Aerospace Congress (AIAC) Dinner on 25 February in Melbourne.

The Australian Division of the Royal Aeronautical Society established the Lawrence Hargrave Award 20 years ago to recognise achievement at all levels and in all disciplines of aerospace within Australia. The Lawrence Hargrave Award honours one of Australia’s true pioneers of flight. Hargrave’s experiments with box kites at Stanwell Park near Sydney in the 1890s proved to be one of the most significant early developments in aviation.

1 Comment
1 Comment
  • Aubrey Stratton wrote...

    Murray, congratulations on being recognized for your significant contributions to Australian aviation. I look back on my days working with you in ICAS and am not at all surprised that you have received this recognition and honor. You truly deserve it!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published, all comments are approved before posted